STEM Friday

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Books

STEM Haiku

11 Comments

STEM Haiku
By Anastasia Suen

It’s STEM Friday! (STEM is Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics)

This year I have been writing a poem a day in a poetry journal. For National Poetry Month, I wanted to try something different, so I created a page on this blog for readers to add their original STEM haiku.

_____________________________________________________________________

I’ve been writing my own STEM haiku and sharing them on my Booktalking blog day by day. Here is today’s poem…

Night Sky
Venus, Jupiter
and Mars, I see you at dusk
shining on the moon.
© 2012 Anastasia Suen

_____________________________________________________________________

In my April Quick Tips column for Booklist, I booktalked 9 new STEM Poetry books.

Incredible Inventions

One Big Rain: Poems for Rainy Days

Steady Hands: Poems About Work

Step Inside! A Look Inside Animal Homes

Bug Off! Creepy, Crawly Poems

Water Sings Blue: Ocean Poems

A Leaf Can Be . . .

Track that Scat!

What’s Looking At You Kid?

I often share books with STEM topics in my Booklist column. (There are so many great STEM books to share!) Did you know that Booklist’s Quick Tips for Schools and Libraries newsletter is free? Sign up to have it sent to you at the beginning of each month.

_____________________________________________________________________

After reading all of this STEM poetry, I hope you’ll be inspired to write your own!

This week’s Poetry Friday Round-up is hosted by Read, Write, Howl

_____________________________________________________________________

Check out the NSTA 2012 STEM Forum & Expo: Tools for STEM Education … Preparations and Applications for Elementary and Middle School Educators. It’s May 17–19, 2012 in Atlantic City, New Jersey. (The earlybird deadline is April 6.)

_____________________________________________________________________

Join STEM Friday!

We invite you to join us!

  • Write about STEM each Friday on your blog.
  • Copy the STEM Friday button to use in your blog post.

STEM Friday

It’s STEM Friday! (STEM is Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics)

  • Link your post to the comments of our weekly STEM Friday Round-up. (Please use the link to your STEM Friday post, not the address of your blog. Thanks!)

Site Meter Copyright © 2012 Anastasia Suen All Rights Reserved.

Author: Anastasia Suen

From her studio in Northern California, developmental editor Anastasia Suen reads, writes, and edits books for creators of all ages.

11 thoughts on “STEM Haiku

  1. I love the idea of STEM haiku – or any kind of poetry. Thanks so much for sharing these books. April is not only poetry month, but it’s also “Earth Month” (Earth Day is April 22 & Arbor Day is Apr 27). Over at Archimedes Notebook I’m kicking off Earth Month with a review of “Rachel Carson and Her Book that Changed the World”. Each Wednesday I share one thing kids can do to make the world a better place for all living things. http://archimedesnotebook.blogspot.com/2012/04/earth-month-book-rachel-carson.html

  2. I like the haiku idea, too. It would be a great school activity. At SimplyScience I have a book about the world’s largest rodent–Capybara by Natalie Lunis from Bearport with an activity.
    Shirley
    http://simplyscience.wordpress.com/2012/04/04/capybara/

  3. Thanks Shirley! That’s a fun book!

  4. Thanks for sharing, Anastasia, and for the great list of STEM poetry collections!

  5. So many new books for me to explore! Thanks for the great list.

  6. Love the haiku idea! I’ll try to get some together for the week I host.

    I took a second look at A Leaf Ca Be… with some suggestions for related science activities at http://blog.growingwithscience.com/2012/03/a-leaf-can-be/

    Have a good weekend.

  7. What a great idea.

    Lab class on Tuesday
    Science fiction comes alive
    Under microscopes