STEM Friday

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Books

Jump! Books

Jump! Books
(Review copies provided by the publisher.)

I like Minnesota. My favorite band, the Jayhawks, hails from Minneapolis. You may be familiar with a couple of other local musicians named Dylan and Prince.  I’ve always thought that the Vikings uniforms were some of the best in the NFL. So I’m not surprised that I am enthusiastic about a couple of imprints from the Star of the North. Jump! (Is David Lee Roththe editor?) has been around since 2012. They aim to provide high interest nonfiction books for readers in the K-2 range. This is like the best chocolate in that you can’t have enough of these kinds of books. The first imprint, Bullfrog Books, is for K-1 readers. I have a copy of Painting, from the Artist’s Studio series, next to me. My first impressions come from the photographs. Bold colors in the pictures and background catch my eye. There is very little white space here as opposed to the books of my youth that sometimes looked like a snowstorm broke out. You can see the brush strokes on the canvas because the views are up close. The people in this book don’t all look the same. That’s great! I want my students to be able to see themselves in these photographs. So what about the text? A mix of short sentences with challenging Tier Two words sprinkled throughout. You’ll want to review a few words before reading with K-1 students, but that’s a good thing. Beginning readers love to learn new words and try to connect them to their world.

The second and newer imprint is Pogo. These books are STEM related and written at a second grade level. In Paper Airplanes and other titles from the Early Physics Fun series, you get the text features that you expect. Bold print, diagrams, fun facts, labels, and procedural text all take a bow. What I really like about this particular title is that it explains the science behind why a paper airplane is able to fly and in second grade language. That’s not easy! Like Bullfrog Books, the photography is spot on. The books are the right size too. Easy for smaller hands to grip with the right amount of text to read. If Goldilocks reviewed nonfiction, she would say the text is just right.

You need these kinds of titles in your public and school libraries. They play a big part in getting kids excited about their world and serve as a gateway for learning how to do research. With many attractive features, you might as well Jump! and find these books for your students.

Author: bargerj

I am a literacy coach in North Carolina. I blog at NC Teacher Stuff and write children's books.

Comments are closed.