STEM Friday

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Books

The Drop in My Drink

7 Comments

The-Drop-in-My-Drink-Hooper-Meredith-9780670876181Water.  We love it, we need it, we all depend on it. “All the water we have is all the water we’ve always had…”  and so begins the story of where the water dripping slowly out of the tap in my kitchen came from, and where it is going.

Meredith Hooper and Chris Coady wrote a beautiful story when they created The Drop in My Drink.  But fantastical as this lengthy picture book is, it is also true. The water on Earth is as old as the planet itself, and yet also timeless. This book explores how every drop of water has cycled through the rivers, the ice sheets, the oceans, and the waves on its endless path around and around. It forms life, it is carried by wind, and it has soaked through countless bodies of penguins and dinosaurs and sunflowers.  And inevitably, it drips through each of us.

This book was published in 1998 and has big words like erodingsubstancesmicroorganisms, and evaporated, and tackles concepts like 390 million years ago, and how limestone caves form. But I read this book to my Earth Champs/Scouts group last weekend, and the young five to nine year olds were impressed by the story.  Impressed because they got it, they understood. Even with all those big words. With some stopping here and there for comments from both the other adults in the room and by our group’s very smart kids, we waded happily through the water cycle.  

While I admit my throat was a bit dry when I was done reading aloud, I felt like we all had gone on a journey. An amazing journey around the earth on a tiny droplet of water. More than anything this book gives its readers a sense of our place in the world. We are made of water, it flows through us, and it always has, and always will.

 

Join STEM Friday!

We invite you to join us!

  • Write about STEM each Friday on your blog.
  • Copy the STEM Friday button to use in your blog post.

STEM Friday

It’s STEM Friday! (STEM is Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics)

  • Link your post to the comments of our weekly STEM Friday Round-up. (Please use the link to your STEM Friday post, not the address of your blog. Thanks!)

Site Meter Copyright © 2012 Amanda K. Jaros All Rights Reserved.

7 thoughts on “The Drop in My Drink

  1. Sue at Archimedes Notebook asked me to post her review for today here! Check out Animal Snacks, by Dawn Cusick, which includes an interview with the author.

    http://archimedesnotebook.blogspot.com/2013/02/cabin-fever-cure-animal-snacks.html

  2. At Booktalking I’m sharing a 2013 Orbis Pictus Honor Book: Citizen Scientists: Be a Part of Scientific Discovery from Your Own Backyard by Loree Griffin Burns http://asuen.com/blog/?p=969

  3. I enjoyed your review immensely. Nice job!

    I’m in today with a new book from the Scientists in the Field series, Wild Horse Scientists. I have a review at http://blog.wrappedinfoil.com/2013/02/wild-horse-scientists-review/ and related horses science activities at http://blog.growingwithscience.com/2013/02/wild-horse-scientists-book-activities/

  4. We love her books, the first one we shared was ‘The Pebble in my Pocket’. Hooper’s picture books are lengthy but so worth it. What I love about her books is how she manages to be poetic and factual at the same time whilst expressing the wonder and beauty of nature. My eldest son is 7 and is a very literal chap whereas I am a bit of a Romantic so we both enjoy Hooper’s work in our own ways!

  5. wading through a watery read with you was lovely.

  6. Thanks for all the comments, other books to check out, and good thoughts on my first STEM post!!!

  7. what a great review, Amanda. Thanks for bringing this book to our attention!